Counterbalancing and focusing on the ONE thing

Yes I believe that what the ONE thing book is true.

If I focus on only achieving ONE thing, the Extreme Pareto One thing that yield most of the result, then it becomes effortless. Instead of self-discipline, habit is more powerful and durable. Instead of believing in the myth of balanced work and life, I should work toward counterbalancing my work and life activities.

Like the rope walker, a tit on the right, a tit on the left. It certainly gives the illusion that he is balanced on his rope, but in fact is more counterbalancing his diverging movement to right and left.

I believe that I have my ONE thing. I enjoy Art, and it’s something I can read and write about, not endlessly, but I can see myself doing that for the next 5 years to say the least.

Think of how art is wonderful illustration of life philosophies, that the remains of ancient civilizations and human life can to some degree speak of their daily life, but their art relates their daily dreams, and beliefs, and philosophies.

Think about how art and the economics of art so related and at the same time so taboo to match or talk about. How art and money and related, and how money, something I spent few years studying can be approached from the Art industry and starving artist point of view. The point of view that shows that there is no art without money. I don’t know about money without art.

I dripped for 20 minutes today. I spent most of it reading the ONE thing and then working on tracking myself effortlessly, using ManicTime (at last).

It has become easier to track myself now. Ironically, I just learned if I do the most important ONE thing in a day, I don’t need to track myself for the rest of the day. From the moment I do the most important ONE thing, I don’t need to really if I spent the rest of the time surfing, wasting time, playing. I would become like Frank Underwood, pulling strings in congress and playing videogames by night.

I just need to re-simplify my day, like how I lived in Tangier. I will try a smaller, more ghetto form of it tomorrow, moving to 1st floor downstairs.

Hopefully that will yield to full focus and concentration of effort, then to relaxed time upstairs once I’m done with doing the most important ONE thing.

Leave a Reply

